Let or Stroke?
Following are a few common scenarios where players are often in doubt whether it is
let or strok.
Playing ball after it hits the backwall
I have never seen a stroke given when the ball is played off the
backwall and the opponent is blocking direct access to the front wall.
However, nothing in the rules as far as I know say that a ball off the
backwall should be treated any differently?
It should be a stroke, except in the following scenarios:
- There is some doubt whether the ball would indeed hit the opponent on its way to the front wall
- Turning situation
- Further attempt to play the ball
You are both correct, and World Referees get it wrong all the time. I have even seen pro players get hit over frustration with not receiving strokes.
It's simple: If you can hit your opponent going to the front wall,
and you haven't turned or made a second attempt, it's a stroke. Good
luck getting the correct call though.
Service down the middle of the court
When someone serves down the middle but still tries
to occupy the T ... you can't hit the front wall with your return but I
bet most times you'll only get a let because people think you can't get
a stroke off the serve ... WRONG